Submissions are closed

Reading will re-open in autumn 2020.

New Critique is an online journal of critical and creative writing.

Every submission is subject to a rigorous review by three editors. We work closely with writers to refine and revise work for publication and offer feedback on all submissions, including those we do not publish.

We receive many submissions and read each one carefully. If we do not proceed with your submission, please wait three months before submitting new work.

Unfortunately, we cannot pay contributors. There is no money involved in the journal, except our running costs. We do not charge subscription fees or run adverts and the editors are unpaid.

Essays of no more than 5,000 words are encouraged on any aspect of literature, art, history, politics, theory, music, film and/or television. Critical, experimental, and journalistic approaches are welcomed.

Please reference using MHRA style, i.e.

Walter Benjamin, Origin of the German Trauerspiel, trans. Howard Eiland (Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2019), 115.

Reinhart Koselleck, ‘Crisis’, trans. Michaela W. Richter, Journal of the History of Ideas, 67:2 (2006), 357–400, 365.

Ann Thompson and Neil Taylor, eds. Hamlet: Revised Edition (London: Arden, 2016), II.i.12.

Critical book, performance, exhibition, album, and screen reviews (1,000–2,500 words) should both close read and situate the work in its social, political, cultural, and/or intellectual contexts.

Creative writing
We publish poetry, fiction, short stories, flash fiction, drama, short film, and anything in between. Creative submissions should not exceed 100 lines of poetry or 5,000 words of fiction or drama.

Send submissions in Word or Docs format (not PDF) to Please allow 4–6 weeks for a response.

Current editors
Josh Mcloughlin
James Mcloughlin
Daunish Negargar

Former editors
Amber De La Haye
Joseph Barker
Claudia Louise
Beth Lester
Tim Harvey

R.A. Allen
Al Anderson
Asligul Armagan
Louis Armand
Richard Barr
Joe Bedford
Dennis Bensie
Margo Berdeshevsky
Jacob Bernard-Banton
Charles Bliss
S.T. Brant
Fraser Bryant
Tia Byer
Jonathan Cardew
Jim Chaffee
Jacob Cunningham
Oliver Deasy
Maria Des Forges
Roy Endean
Susannah Farrell
Robert Firth
Daniel Formby
R.G. Foster
Breyon Gibbs
Elizabeth Gibson
Louis Glazzard
Bart van Goethem
Allison Grayhurst
Victoria Griffin
Mark Halpern
Sam Hancock
Tim Harding
R.W. Haynes
Tom Holmes
Lucas Hill-Paul
Tom Hillsdon
Maddy Howard
Avrina Joslin
Gergely Károly
Joanna Kaye
Jemima Khalli
Jasper Llewelyn
Michael Loveday
Amelia Madan
DS Maolalai
Michael McGinley-Hughes
Seamus McGinley-Hughes
Catherine McNamara
Mike Miley
Will Moffitt
Christopher Moore
Paul Murgatroyd
Nathan Moreau
Sophie Nicholas
Kapka Nilan
Dan Norman
Clodagh O’Brien
Ronan O’Shea
Ellen Paterson
Bernard Pearson
Mary Peelen
Nick Power
Niles Reddick
Matilda Roberts
Melissa Roberts
Simon Robson
Jake Sanders
Jacob Schroeder
Cam Scott
Aditya Shankar
Jack Sheen
Harry Sherriff
Connie Sjödin
Eliza Slawther
Jenny Sloan
Hannah Streck
Franck Vanhee
Chris Veasey
Anna Vine
Jonathan Webster
Micah White
Jack Williams


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s